Vote for the 2016 Honorary Grand Marshal

This program is sponsored by
Goldstein, Buckley, Chechman, Rice and Purtz
We received an overwhelming amount of nominations this year for such deserving individuals who truly help to make our community a better place. The committee was tasked with the grueling challenge of narrowing down the pool of candidates for the public vote. Below you can read a little about each of the finalists before placing your vote for the 2016 Honorary Grand Marshal.

The winner will ride in the Grand Parade of Light on February 20th, which sees over 200,000 participants and attendees!

Deputy Zazwirsky is a 12 year veteran of the Lee County Sheriff’s Office. In 2014 Deputy Zazwirsky began “Fighting Holiday Hunger” to provide food to families in need. More than 750 families were fed for the Thanksgiving holiday and over 2,000 families during the Christmas holiday. Deputy Zazwirsky’s plan to impact more than a couple families impacted over 2,750 families. Additionally, Deputy Zazwirsky developed a juvenile arrest monitoring system and has been a key component in reducing juvenile crime by over 20% within the North District.

Benjamin (Ben) Simmons currently serves on the Board of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Lee County and through his years of service has assisted the professional staff in both fundraising and recruiting “Bigs” to be mentors for children facing adversity. Under Ben’s leadership, the organization has grown from a startup with no operations to serving over 250 children last year. In addition, Mr. Simmons also mentors small business owners and non-profits for Southwest Florida SCORE by utilizing his expertise to provide guidance and resources to help them succeed and thrive.

Gary Avin was the 2014 Mentor of the Year for the Take Stock in Children. Mr. Avin has a passion for helping local youth to inspire to become productive members in the community and currently serves as the head coach for the Lee County Hawks U6 youth football team. In November, the team won the Southwest Florida Football League championship. Mr. Avin, through his guidance and mentorship, works to instill a lasting sense of responsibility in his mentees.

Please place your vote for the 2016 Honorary Grand Marshal.
Voting Deadline: January 31, 2016

Share:Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone